It’s Not What You Think by Clare Mackintosh: audiobook vs book, which should you choose?
The story has four points of view, and in print each chapter is labelled with its character. Four actors read the audiobook, but no listing or review says which actor reads which character. Which actor reads which part is the open question.
Short answer: for It’s Not What You Think by Clare Mackintosh audiobook vs book choice, we say read it on Kindle (57% confidence, close call). Richard Armitage, Samuel Barnett, Tuppence Middleton and Vineeta Rishi read HarperCollins’s 2026 recording in 11 hours 31 minutes, unabridged. The US Sourcebooks listing has the same four narrators and length. No publisher, retailer or critic says which actor reads which character. Kirkus praises the narration, but the timeline jumps back two months, which points to reading.
Read it on Kindle
Four actors give a praised narration, but the timeline jumps back two months in part four.
Affiliate links: we may earn a small commission, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict.
Confidence 57%, which puts it in the close call band. Bands run from close call at 50 to 64, through leaning at 65 to 79 and clear at 80 to 94, up to clear cut at 95 and above.
The audiobook at a glance
| Recording | UK edition, our verdict (HarperCollins) | US edition (Sourcebooks) |
|---|---|---|
| Narrator | Richard Armitage, Samuel Barnett, Tuppence Middleton, Vineeta Rishi | The same four |
| Length | 11 hours 31 minutes (11h 31m) | 11 hours 31 minutes (11h 31m) |
| At 1.5x | about 7h 41m | about 7h 41m |
| At 2x | about 5h 46m | about 5h 46m |
| Abridged or unabridged | Unabridged | Unabridged |
| Audio publisher and year | HarperCollins, 26 March 2026 | Sourcebooks, 22 September 2026 |
| Print length | 400 pages (HarperCollins paperback, 16 July 2026, per Waterstones; Blackwell’s lists 391) | 416 pages (Sourcebooks Landmark hardback, 22 September 2026) |
| Price (snapshot) | £15.50 on Audible UK | $20.25 on Audible US |
The same four narrators and the same run time are sold under two publishers; no page states that the Sourcebooks release is the HarperCollins recording relicensed, so they are treated as one recording with that caveat. The HarperCollins listing leads Audible UK and is scored.
Lengths checked 19 October 2026. Speed times are calculated from the listed length. Prices are a snapshot from the same day.
It’s Not What You Think
Clare Mackintosh
- Genre
- Crime thriller
- Published
- 2026
- Length
- 400 pages (HarperCollins paperback; Blackwell’s lists 391)
- On audio
- 11 hrs 31 mins, four narrators
- Structure
- Six parts and about 70 short chapters, four points of view
- On screen
- Optioned for TV by Red Planet Pictures, February 2026; no broadcaster or date
On this page
Why we reached this verdict
Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions. They are based on research into what most people find easier to follow in each format, not on whether the book is any good.
Listening: award-winning or praised narration (6), 6 points. Reading: jumping timelines (8), 8 points. 57% of the confirmed points favour reading, so the verdict is read it on Kindle at 57% confidence (close call).
The recording in detail
- Two Audible listings
- HarperCollins, 26 March 2026, 11h 31m (scored; leads Audible UK, 4.3 from 1,241 ratings); Sourcebooks, 22 September 2026, 11h 31m (leads Audible US). Same four narrators on both
- Casting
- Richard Armitage, Samuel Barnett, Tuppence Middleton and Vineeta Rishi. Which actor reads which point of view is not stated on any opened page
- Production
- Unabridged. No music or PDF mentioned
- Listener ratings
- 4.3 from 1,241 ratings on Audible UK (HarperCollins); 4.0 from 61 on Audible US (Sourcebooks), as of October 2026
- What audio adds
- Four actors read a story with four viewpoints, and Kirkus calls them “a quartet of outstanding vocal talents”
- What you miss
- The chapter headings that name each point-of-view character, unless the recording reads them aloud, which is not confirmed
What this book actually is
It’s Not What You Think is Clare Mackintosh’s 2026 thriller, first published by HarperCollins in hardback and audio on 26 March 2026, with the UK paperback on 16 July 2026; Sourcebooks Landmark published it in the US on 22 September 2026. Mackintosh calls it “my most ambitious thriller yet”. The publisher’s paperback copy describes it as an instant number one Sunday Times bestseller. Red Planet Pictures, the producers of Death in Paradise, optioned it for television in February 2026 with Kam Odedra attached to write; no broadcaster, cast or date has been announced.
Nadeeka suspects her partner Jamie of an affair. When he says he is working late, she goes home to catch him, and finds the house is a crime scene. The blurb closes: “Jamie is dead.” The story is told from four points of view, in six parts and about 70 short chapters, each labelled with the character whose viewpoint it follows, and reviewers describe parallel investigations by Nadeeka and DCI Lauren Caldwell. Bookreporter places a major twist at the end of the first 75 pages; Lee Child says “I always see the twists coming, but not this time.”
The case for reading it
The printed book makes its one structural challenge easy to follow. Four points of view pass the story between characters, and each chapter is labelled with the name of whoever is telling it, so a reader always knows whose head they are in. Part 4 rewinds about two months, according to one blog, and Jen Med’s describes movement “back and forth in time”; a dated or named heading in print is the quickest way to work out where you are after a jump like that.
Several reviewers say the chapters are “short and snappy”, which suits print and audio equally. The Kindle edition, 400 pages in the paperback, is a one-sitting read at “almost breakneck speed”, in Live and Deadly’s phrase. Nothing else in the printed book matters to how you follow the story. No documents, messages or transcripts are reported, and the voicemail and photograph that recur in the plot are objects in the story rather than things printed in the book.
The case for listening to it
Four actors read it: Richard Armitage, Samuel Barnett, Tuppence Middleton and Vineeta Rishi. Kirkus calls them “a quartet of outstanding vocal talents” and the result “outstanding suspense, gripping narration, and a highly topical premise”. UK listeners say “narrating was spot on, exceptional performances”; a US listener who found the plot thin still called the performances “good”.
If one actor reads each point of view, the audiobook handles the book’s only structural difficulty better than a chapter heading does, because you hear a new voice when the viewpoint changes. That is what happened on Gone Girl and Daisy Jones & The Six, both listen verdicts. The difference here is that nobody has confirmed it, and the site does not assume casting. A few minutes of the free sample would answer the question.
The audiobook in detail
HarperCollins released the UK recording on 26 March 2026, the same day as the hardback: 11 hours 31 minutes, unabridged, four narrators. Sourcebooks released a US listing on 22 September 2026 with the same four names and the same run time; no page says it is the HarperCollins recording relicensed, though everything about it matches. Audible UK also still returns two unrelated audiobooks with the same title, Chris Evans’s abridged 2009 memoir and Jefferson Bethke’s 2015 book, so search with Mackintosh’s name. At 1.5x it takes about 7 hours 41 minutes, at 2x about 5 hours 46 minutes.
No product page says which actor reads which character, and no critic has. No award was found. The HarperCollins listing has 4.3 from 1,241 ratings on Audible UK as of October 2026; the Sourcebooks listing is newer and has 61.
Who should ignore this verdict
Anyone who plays the opening minutes of the sample and can hear that each viewpoint has its own actor should listen: the four actors would then be marking each change of viewpoint, as the chapter labels do in print, and doing it better. Anyone who already likes Richard Armitage or Tuppence Middleton as narrators should also listen. Readers who want the chapter labels in front of them during the Part 4 rewind should stay with the Kindle edition.
Kindle
- 400 pages (HarperCollins paperback; Blackwell’s lists 391)
- Every chapter labelled with its narrator
Audiobook
- Read by Richard Armitage, Samuel Barnett, Tuppence Middleton and Vineeta Rishi
- 11h 31m, or about 7h 41m at 1.5x
- Who reads which character is not published
Read differently from most people? The app, coming soon, will let you switch off any of the thirteen checks. Get notified →
Related verdicts

Fourth Wing
Another multi-narrator recording that scored for audio.

Verity
A twisty thriller with two narrators, with a Read verdict.

The Thursday Murder Club
A UK crime novel with many characters and one narrator, with a Read verdict.
Start hereHow we decide
The thirteen questions behind every verdict on this site.
Questions people ask
Who narrates It’s Not What You Think by Clare Mackintosh?
Richard Armitage, Samuel Barnett, Tuppence Middleton and Vineeta Rishi, on both the HarperCollins (UK) and Sourcebooks (US) listings. Which actor reads which character is not stated on any Audible, publisher or review page.
How long is the It’s Not What You Think audiobook?
The It’s Not What You Think audiobook is 11 hours 31 minutes (11h 31m) long, unabridged, on both Audible UK and Audible US. At 1.5x it takes about 7 hours 41 minutes; at 2x about 5 hours 46 minutes (calculated).
Is the It’s Not What You Think audiobook abridged?
No. Both the HarperCollins and Sourcebooks listings are unabridged.
Should I read or listen to It’s Not What You Think?
Read it on our checks (57% confidence, close call). Kirkus praises the four-actor narration, but the timeline jumps back two months in part four, which points to reading.
Who reads which character in the audiobook?
Not confirmed. Four actors are credited for a story told from four points of view, but no page says who reads whom, so this page does not assume it.
Is It’s Not What You Think being made into a TV series?
It has been optioned. Red Planet Pictures acquired the TV rights in February 2026 with Kam Odedra attached to write. No broadcaster, cast or date has been announced.
When did It’s Not What You Think come out in the UK?
The hardback and audiobook came out on 26 March 2026 from HarperCollins; the UK paperback followed on 16 July 2026. The US edition, from Sourcebooks Landmark, came out on 22 September 2026.
Do you agree with this verdict?
We said read it on Kindle. One tap, no sign-up.
Spotted a mistake on this page? Tell us and we will fix it. Or tell us how the site could be better.
How this verdict was reached
Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions, set in advance and applied identically to every title. They are based on research into what readers and listeners generally find easier to follow in each format, not on personal preference, and they are published in full so you can check the reasoning yourself. Verdicts are never paid for, sponsored or influenced by affiliate partners.
- The criteria: read the thirteen questions in full.
- What we checked for this book: the Audible UK and Audible US listings and the HarperCollins and Sourcebooks product pages, NetGalley, Red Planet Pictures’ announcement, Blackwell’s and Waterstones for the editions, the Kirkus audiobook review, Bookreporter, and the Jen Med’s, Bookishelf, Novel Deelights, Live and Deadly and Damppebbles blog reviews for the structure.
- Verdict last reviewed: 23 October 2026. Editions and narrators change, so verdicts are rechecked annually.
- Prefer different criteria? The app, coming soon, will let you change which of the thirteen questions matter to you.
Deciding about a different book?
Search for it. If we've written it up, we'll take you to the verdict. If not, we'll add it to our list of books to check.