Every verdict checked against the same thirteen questions. No paid placements.The free app is coming soon. Get early access →
Home › Verdicts › Crime & thrillers › The Christmas Appeal
Read

The Christmas Appeal by Janice Hallett: audiobook vs book, which should you choose?

The story involves a pantomime of Jack and the Beanstalk and a murder. The mystery is told entirely in emails, texts and voicemails, and four narrators perform the audiobook.

Read vs Listen·Verdict last reviewed 23 October 2026·7 min read
The Christmas AppealJanice Hallett

Short answer: for The Christmas Appeal audiobook vs book choice, we say read it on Kindle (60% confidence, close call). Aysha Kala, Daniel Philpott, Rachel Adedeji and Sid Sagar read it for Profile Books in about 3 hours 35 minutes, unabridged, and who reads which character is not stated. The reason is the format. The story is told entirely in documents, and the printed book shows them as written. AudioFile does praise the narrators.

The verdict
The same thirteen checks for every bookSix checks point to listening, such as a full cast or produced audio, the author reading their own memoir, or one narrator for a single viewpoint. Seven point to reading, such as jumping timelines, three or more viewpoints, or a story that depends on images or layout. Each check has a weight, and the weighted total sets the verdict. Verdicts are never paid for. See how we decide in full →

Read it on Kindle

The book is told entirely in documents, which the printed book lays out as written, and that points to print. AudioFile’s praise for the four narrators points to audio.

Definitely readDefinitely listen
60%
Read
Get it on KindleOur pick · Told in emails and textsAudiobookabout 3h 35m, four narrators

Affiliate links: we may earn a small commission, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict.

Confidence 60%, which puts it in the close call band. Bands run from close call at 50 to 64, through leaning at 65 to 79 and clear at 80 to 94, up to clear cut at 95 and above.

The audiobook at a glance

RecordingUK edition, our verdict (Profile Books)Isis CD edition
NarratorsAysha Kala, Daniel Philpott, Rachel Adedeji and Sid SagarThe same four
LengthAbout 3 hours 35 minutes (3h 35m)About 3 hours 22 minutes
At 1.5xabout 2h 23mabout 2h 15m
At 2xabout 1h 48mabout 1h 41m
Abridged or unabridgedUnabridgedComplete and unabridged
Audio publisher and yearProfile Books, 2023Isis (Ulverscroft), 2023

The Audible UK page we read showed the narrators but not the length. 3h 35m comes from the Hachette Audio listing on Listening Books, and Audible series pages show 3h 35m and 3h 36m. These may all be the same recording on different platforms, which is not confirmed.

Lengths checked 23 October 2026. Speed times are calculated.

The Christmas Appeal

Janice Hallett

Genre
Crime; a Christmas mystery novella
Published
2023
On audio
About 3 hrs 35 mins, four narrators
Series
Follows The Appeal, with the same Fairway Players; The Silent Appeal comes next

Why we reached this verdict

Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions. They are based on research into what most people find easier to follow in each format, not on whether the book is any good.

One criterion points to reading
✓
Story depends on images or layoutThe whole book is emails, texts, WhatsApp messages, voicemails and police transcripts, and in print you see each format and sender. One listener found the audio hard to keep up with at times.
–
Jumping timelinesNo source describes jumps back and forth in time.
–
Three or more points of view, one narratorThe documents come from many senders, but four narrators read them, so this does not apply.
–
Narration criticisedAudible Performance is 4.38 from 66 ratings, above 4.0, and AudioFile praises the cast.
–
Maps, family trees or footnotesNo maps, family trees or footnotes are reported.
–
Many similar-sounding namesNot confirmed from a named source, so it does not count.
–
Literary or dense proseNot confirmed from a named source, so it does not count.
One criterion points to listening
✓
Award-winning or praised narrationAudioFile praises the cast, noting that Kala, Philpott, Adedeji and Sagar so deftly individualise the dialogue.
–
Read by the authorIt is fiction, and actors read it, not Janice Hallett.
–
Single point of view and narratorThe documents come from many senders, and four narrators read them.
–
Long bookThe Viper hardback runs 208 pages, under 400.
–
Full cast or produced audioNot confirmed from a named source, so it does not count.
–
Unfamiliar names or dialectNot confirmed from a named source, so it does not count.
How the score adds up
Reading 9 points, listening 6

Listening: award-winning or praised narration (6), 6 points. Reading: story depends on images or layout (9), 9 points. 60% of the confirmed points favour reading, so the verdict is read it on Kindle at 60% confidence (close call).

The recording in detail

One narratorMulti-voiceFull castDramatised
Scored
Aysha Kala, Daniel Philpott, Rachel Adedeji and Sid Sagar, Profile Books, 2023, about 3h 35m, unabridged
Casting
Who reads which character is not stated
Critic review
AudioFile praises the cast
Alternatives
Isis CD edition with the same four narrators
What you miss
The look of each document in print

What this book actually is

The Christmas Appeal is a 2023 novella by Janice Hallett, a Christmas follow-up to The Appeal with the same Fairway Players amateur dramatics group, now staging a pantomime of Jack and the Beanstalk. Reviewers describe it as book 1.5 in the series; The Silent Appeal comes next.

Like The Appeal, it is told entirely through documents, which lawyers Femi and Charlotte examine. Who the victim is forms part of the puzzle, so this page does not say.

The case for reading it

The case for reading is the format. Every page is a message from someone, and in print you can see at a glance who sent it, when, and in what form. That makes it easier to compare accounts and spot inconsistencies, which is half the fun of a Hallett mystery. One listener found the audio “a bit difficult to keep up with” at times.

Whether print uses different typography for each kind of message is not confirmed.

The Christmas AppealJanice Hallett
Get the Kindle editionTold in emails and texts
Get it on Kindle

The case for listening to it

The recording uses four narrators, Aysha Kala, Daniel Philpott, Rachel Adedeji and Sid Sagar, and AudioFile says they individualise the dialogue so well it sounds like a larger cast. On audio, messages from different senders are read in different voices, which does the job that formatting does in print.

At about 3 hours 35 minutes, it is a single evening’s listen, or about 2 hours 23 minutes at 1.5x.

The audiobook in detail

Profile Books published the audio in 2023, read by four narrators. The Audible UK page we read did not show a length; the Hachette Audio listing on Listening Books gives 3 hours 35 minutes, Audible series pages show 3h 35m and 3h 36m, and the Isis CD edition with the same narrators is listed at about 3 hours 22 minutes. These may be the same recording, but that is not confirmed.

Who reads which character is not stated on any listing we read. Speed times: about 2h 23m at 1.5x and 1h 48m at 2x (calculated).

Who should ignore this verdict

Anyone who prefers to take in a mystery on audio. Four narrators read the messages, and AudioFile says they individualise the dialogue so well it sounds like a larger cast. Who reads which character is not stated, so a sample is worth trying.

Anyone short of time. At about 3 hours 35 minutes it is a single evening’s listen, or about 2 hours 23 minutes at 1.5x.

Get The Christmas Appeal
Both editions, so you can go with the verdict or ignore it entirely.
Our pick

Kindle

  • See each email, text and transcript as written
  • Easier to compare accounts
Get the Kindle edition

Audiobook

  • Four narrators, praised by AudioFile
  • About 3h 35m, or 2h 23m at 1.5x
  • Unabridged
Listen on Audible
Affiliate links. If you buy through one of these we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you, and with no influence on the verdict above.

Read differently from most people? The app, coming soon, will let you switch off any of the thirteen checks. Get notified →

Related verdicts

Questions people ask

Who narrates The Christmas Appeal audiobook?

Four narrators: Aysha Kala, Daniel Philpott, Rachel Adedeji and Sid Sagar. Who reads which character is not stated.

How long is The Christmas Appeal audiobook?

About 3 hours 35 minutes, unabridged; at 1.5x about 2 hours 23 minutes (calculated). An Isis CD edition with the same narrators is listed at about 3 hours 22 minutes.

Do I need to read The Appeal first?

It follows The Appeal with the same Fairway Players, and reviewers call it book 1.5 in the series, so reading The Appeal first gives you the characters’ history.

Should I read or listen to The Christmas Appeal?

Read it on our checks (60% confidence, close call). The story is told entirely in documents, which the printed book shows as written. AudioFile does praise the four narrators.

Is The Christmas Appeal told in emails and texts?

Yes. The whole story is told through emails, texts, WhatsApp messages, voicemails and police transcripts.

Do you agree with this verdict?

We said read it on Kindle. One tap, no sign-up.

Spotted a mistake on this page? Tell us and we will fix it. Or tell us how the site could be better.

How this verdict was reached

Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions, set in advance and applied identically to every title. They are based on research into what readers and listeners generally find easier to follow in each format, not on personal preference, and they are published in full so you can check the reasoning yourself. Verdicts are never paid for, sponsored or influenced by affiliate partners.

Deciding about a different book?

Search for it. If we've written it up, we'll take you to the verdict. If not, we'll add it to our list of books to check.

The Christmas AppealJanice Hallett
The Christmas AppealOur pick: read · 60%
AudibleGet it on Kindle