Every verdict checked against the same thirteen questions. No paid placements.The free app is coming soon. Get early access →
Home › Verdicts › Classics & gothic › The Nutcracker and the Mouse King
Read

The Nutcracker and the Mouse King audiobook vs book: which should you choose?

This is the 1816 fairy tale behind the ballet, and it is stranger and darker than the Christmas Eve story most people know. The recording uses several voices, but none of the readers is named.

Read vs Listen·Verdict last reviewed 23 October 2026·6 min read
The Nutcracker and the Mouse KingE.T.A. Hoffmann

Short answer: for The Nutcracker and the Mouse King audiobook vs book choice, we say read it on Kindle (65% confidence, leaning). The scored edition is Dreamscape Media’s 2021 recording, 2 hours 40 minutes on Audible UK and US, listed as a full cast with no cast named. Tony Robinson’s well-known version is a BBC Radio 4 dramatisation, not a reading. The story moves out of order through a tale within the tale, and nothing confirmed points to audio.

The verdict
The same thirteen checks for every bookSix checks point to listening, such as a full cast or produced audio, the author reading their own memoir, or one narrator for a single viewpoint. Seven point to reading, such as jumping timelines, three or more viewpoints, or a story that depends on images or layout. Each check has a weight, and the weighted total sets the verdict. Verdicts are never paid for. See how we decide in full →

Read it on Kindle

A story that moves out of order through a tale within the tale, with nothing confirmed pointing to audio.

Definitely readDefinitely listen
65%
Read
Get it on KindleOur pick · 192 pages with Dumas (Penguin Classics)Audiobook2h 40m, full cast (Dreamscape)

Affiliate links: we may earn a small commission, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict.

Confidence 65%, which puts it in the leaning band. Bands run from close call at 50 to 64, through leaning at 65 to 79 and clear at 80 to 94, up to clear cut at 95 and above.

The audiobook at a glance

RecordingOur verdict: full cast (Dreamscape Media)Also on both stores: Gildart Jackson, solo (Dreamscape Media)
NarratorA full cast, names not givenGildart Jackson
Length2 hours 40 minutes (2h 40m)3 hours 22 minutes (3h 22m), with an introduction
At 1.5xabout 1h 47mabout 2h 15m
At 2x1h 20m1h 41m
Abridged or unabridgedUnabridged, per a library catalogueUnabridged, per a library catalogue
Audio publisher and yearDreamscape Media, released 18 November 2021Dreamscape Media, 2022
TranslationNot statedNot stated
Print length192 pages (Penguin Classics, Neugroschel translation, with Dumas’s version)Same edition
Price (snapshot)£9.42 on Audible UK, $11.44 on Audible US£9.78 on Audible UK, $12.58 on Audible US

A full cast ranks above a single narrator, and this is the only multi-voice, non-dramatised edition found, so it is scored. A CD library record gives about 102 minutes for it, against 2h 40m on Audible; the difference is unexplained. Tony Robinson’s recording is a BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisation, adapted by Brian Sibley (1h 52m), and Claire Bloom’s (with Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, 53 minutes) is abridged, so neither is scored. Whether UK and US listings are the same recordings is not confirmed.

Lengths checked 21 October 2026. Speed times are calculated from the listed length. Prices are a snapshot from the same day.

The Nutcracker and the Mouse King

E.T.A. Hoffmann

Genre
Fairy tale
First published
Berlin, 1816, in Kinder-Mährchen; collected in The Serapion Brethren, 1819
Length
14 chapters, three of them a story within the story
On audio
2 hrs 40 mins, full cast (Dreamscape)
Adapted as
Dumas’s version (1844); Tchaikovsky’s ballet (1892), based on Dumas; films including Disney’s The Nutcracker and the Four Realms (2018)

Why we reached this verdict

Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions. They are based on research into what most people find easier to follow in each format, not on whether the book is any good.

One criterion points to reading
✓
Jumping timelinesChapters 7 to 9, the Hard Nut story, are told by Drosselmeier to Marie as backstory explaining the frame story, so the story moves out of order in time.
–
Three or more points of view, one narratorThe narration stays close to Marie, with an address to the “gentle reader or listener”, so it is not three or more viewpoints.
–
Story depends on images or layoutNo images or layout carry the plot. The 1816 first edition had one colour plate of the Mouse King, which is decoration.
–
Many similar-sounding namesNo listener review or cast list shows confusable names.
–
Literary or dense proseNo named critic describes Hoffmann’s tale as dense or literary.
–
Narration criticisedAudible Performance ratings are 4.75 from 4 ratings in the UK and 4.36 from 45 in the US, and no named critic criticises the narration.
–
Maps, family trees or footnotesNo maps, family trees or footnotes are noted for the Penguin Classics text.
No criteria point to listening
–
Read by the authorIt is fiction by Hoffmann, who died in 1822, not a memoir.
–
Single point of view and narratorThe scored edition is a multi-voice recording, not one narrator.
–
Award-winning or praised narrationNo award or named critic review was found for the Dreamscape recording, and reviews are mixed.
–
Unfamiliar names or dialectNothing says the German-origin names (Drosselmeier, Stahlbaum, Pirlipat) are easier to take in when heard.
–
Long bookIt is 192 pages in print, under 400.
–
Full cast or produced audioNot confirmed from a named source, so it does not count.
How the score adds up
Reading 8 points, listening 0

Listening: nothing confirmed, 0 points. Reading: jumping timelines (8), 8 points. 100% of the confirmed points favour reading, so the verdict is read it on Kindle at 65% confidence (leaning). Only 8 points could be confirmed, so confidence is held at 65% until more evidence is found.

The recording in detail

One narratorMulti-voiceFull castDramatised
Scored
Dreamscape Media multi-voice recording, released 18 November 2021, 2h 40m, on Audible UK and US. Cast and translation not stated
Listener ratings
No star rating shown on the Audible pages checked; US reviews mixed
Tony Robinson
A BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisation adapted by Brian Sibley (2015, 1h 52m), with Tony Robinson as the Nutcracker, Edward de Souza as Drosselmeier and Angela Shaftoe as Mary. Not a reading of the book
Solo readings
Gildart Jackson (2022, 3h 22m), Sara Nichols (2025, 2h 44m, Mrs. St. Simon translation), Sandra Cullum (2016), Arthur Lane and Noelle Dupuis (both 2h 20m), and free on LibriVox
With Tchaikovsky
Claire Bloom’s The Story of the Nutcracker (HarperCollins, 2006, 53 minutes) has the Nutcracker Suite, but it is abridged
What you miss
A named translation, and illustrated editions such as Sendak’s

What this book actually is

E.T.A. Hoffmann’s The Nutcracker and the Mouse King was first published in Berlin in 1816, in a book of children’s tales, and later collected in The Serapion Brethren (1819). On Christmas Eve, Marie Stahlbaum, about seven, is drawn to a nutcracker among the presents from her godfather Drosselmeier. At midnight the toys come to life and the Nutcracker leads them against the Mouse King. It has 14 chapters, and chapters 7 to 9 are a story within the story, The Tale of the Hard Nut, about Princess Pirlipat, told by Drosselmeier over three nights.

Tchaikovsky’s ballet (1892) is not based directly on Hoffmann but on Alexandre Dumas’s 1844 adaptation, which is why the ballet’s heroine is Clara and the story feels gentler. Films range from Nutcracker Fantasy (1979) and Barbie in the Nutcracker (2001) to Disney’s The Nutcracker and the Four Realms (2018).

The case for reading it

Print gives you a choice of translation, which audio does not: most recordings do not say whose English they use. Penguin Classics publishes Joachim Neugroschel’s translation with an introduction by Jack Zipes, together with Dumas’s The Tale of the Nutcracker, so you can compare the original with the version behind the ballet (192 pages, $16.00 in the US as of October 2026). Note that the Dumas text is a different story, not a second translation.

Maurice Sendak illustrated Ralph Manheim’s translation in 1984, rated 4.08 from 12,265 Goodreads ratings as of October 2026, and it is a lovely book to share. In print it is also easier to keep the Pirlipat story separate from the main one, and to notice the names if you know the ballet’s version.

The Nutcracker and the Mouse KingE.T.A. Hoffmann
Get the Kindle edition192 pages with Dumas (Penguin Classics)
Get it on Kindle

The case for listening to it

Hoffmann wrote the tale for children, and his narrator talks to the “gentle reader or listener”. The long middle section is a story told aloud, night by night, which is exactly how audio delivers it. At 2 hours 40 minutes for the scored edition, about 1 hour 20 minutes at 2x, it fits a couple of December evenings.

The scored Dreamscape recording is listed as a full cast, but no cast list was found. Listeners like hearing different voices, though some found them overlapping or mismatched. If you prefer one voice, Gildart Jackson’s “Fireside Reading” (3h 22m) or Sara Nichols’s (2h 44m, which names its 1853 translation) are the alternatives.

The audiobook in detail

Dreamscape’s multi-voice recording (readers not named) was released on 18 November 2021 and costs £9.42 on Audible UK and $11.44 on Audible US as of October 2026. A library catalogue lists it as unabridged; a CD record gives about 102 minutes on two discs, which does not match Audible’s 2 hours 40 minutes. No star rating was displayed on the pages checked. At 1.5x it takes about 1 hour 47 minutes.

The recording many people search for, Tony Robinson’s, is a BBC Radio 4 dramatisation adapted by Brian Sibley, with Tony Robinson voicing the Nutcracker, 1 hour 52 minutes. It is a good Christmas listen but not a reading of the book, so it is not scored. A Tchaikovsky “Full Cast Audioplay with Music” sold in the US tells the ballet’s story, not Hoffmann’s.

Who should ignore this verdict

Anyone who likes a story told aloud. Hoffmann’s narrator talks to the “gentle reader or listener”, and the long middle section is a story told to Marie night by night, which is how audio delivers it. At 2 hours 40 minutes, about 1 hour 20 minutes at 2x, it fits a couple of December evenings.

Anyone who likes hearing different voices, though some listeners found them overlapping or mismatched and no cast list was found. If you prefer one voice, Gildart Jackson’s “Fireside Reading” (3h 22m) or Sara Nichols’s (2h 44m, which names its 1853 translation) are the alternatives.

Anyone who wants Tchaikovsky’s music with the story, for whom Claire Bloom’s abridged recording is the only one found with the Nutcracker Suite.

Get The Nutcracker and the Mouse King
Both editions, so you can go with the verdict or ignore it entirely.
Our pick

Kindle

  • 192 pages with Dumas’s version (Penguin Classics)
  • A named translation, and Sendak’s illustrated edition
Get the Kindle edition

Audiobook

  • Full cast, Dreamscape Media (cast not named)
  • 2h 40m, or about 1h 47m at 1.5x
  • Gildart Jackson reads it solo in 3h 22m
Listen on Audible
Affiliate links. If you buy through one of these we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you, and with no influence on the verdict above.

Read differently from most people? The app, coming soon, will let you switch off any of the thirteen checks. Get notified →

Related verdicts

Questions people ask

Who narrates The Nutcracker and the Mouse King audiobook?

The scored edition is Dreamscape Media’s full-cast recording (2021), but the cast is not named. Gildart Jackson, Sara Nichols, Sandra Cullum, Arthur Lane and Noelle Dupuis read solo editions.

Is Tony Robinson’s Nutcracker an audiobook of the book?

No. It is a BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisation adapted by Brian Sibley, with Tony Robinson voicing the Nutcracker, 1 hour 52 minutes. It is not a reading of Hoffmann’s text.

How long is The Nutcracker and the Mouse King audiobook?

The Dreamscape full-cast edition is 2 hours 40 minutes; at 1.5x about 1 hour 47 minutes and at 2x 1 hour 20 minutes (calculated). Unabridged solo readings run from 2 hours 20 minutes to 3 hours 22 minutes.

Should I read or listen to The Nutcracker and the Mouse King?

Read it on our checks (65% confidence, leaning). The story moves out of order through a tale within the tale, and nothing confirmed points to audio.

Is the Nutcracker ballet based on this book?

Indirectly. Tchaikovsky’s ballet (1892) is based on Alexandre Dumas’s 1844 adaptation of Hoffmann’s tale, not on Hoffmann directly.

Is the girl in The Nutcracker called Clara or Marie?

Marie in Hoffmann’s original, Mary in the 1853 St. Simon translation and the BBC version, and Clara in the ballet tradition.

Do you agree with this verdict?

We said read it on Kindle. One tap, no sign-up.

Spotted a mistake on this page? Tell us and we will fix it. Or tell us how the site could be better.

How this verdict was reached

Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions, set in advance and applied identically to every title. They are based on research into what readers and listeners generally find easier to follow in each format, not on personal preference, and they are published in full so you can check the reasoning yourself. Verdicts are never paid for, sponsored or influenced by affiliate partners.

Deciding about a different book?

Search for it. If we've written it up, we'll take you to the verdict. If not, we'll add it to our list of books to check.

The Nutcracker and the Mouse KingE.T.A. Hoffmann
The Nutcracker and the Mouse KingOur pick: read · 65%
AudibleGet it on Kindle