Bad Words by Ríoghnach Robinson: audiobook vs book, which should you choose?
The book is about a literary feud, and the audiobook has a narrator for each side: Major Curda reads the novelist and Katharine Chin reads the critic. It also has an audio-only bonus chapter with the author. Against that, one listener found an email exchange tiring to hear read aloud.

Short answer: for Bad Words by Ríoghnach Robinson audiobook vs book choice, we say listen on Audible (100% confidence, clear cut). Katharine Chin, Major Curda and the author read the HarperCollins listing that leads Audible UK, 12 hours 30 minutes (12h 30m), unabridged; Kirkus confirms Curda plays Parker Navarro and Chin plays Selina Chan. One narrator per viewpoint and praised performances favour audio, and nothing confirmed points to print.
Listen on Audible
A narrator for each viewpoint and praised performances, with nothing confirmed that points to print.
Affiliate links: we may earn a small commission, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict.
Confidence 100%, which puts it in the clear cut band. Bands run from close call at 50 to 64, through leaning at 65 to 79 and clear at 80 to 94, up to clear cut at 95 and above.
The audiobook at a glance
| Recording | UK edition, our verdict (HarperCollins / Macmillan Audio, three narrators) | US edition (Macmillan Audio, Chin and Curda) |
|---|---|---|
| Narrator | Katharine Chin, Major Curda, Ríoghnach Robinson | Katharine Chin, Major Curda |
| Length | 12 hours 30 minutes (12h 30m) | 12 hours 29 minutes (12h 29m) |
| At 1.5x | 8h 20m | about 8h 19m |
| At 2x | 6h 15m | about 6h 15m |
| Abridged or unabridged | Unabridged | Unabridged |
| Audio publisher and year | HarperCollins listing, (P) Macmillan Audio, 8 October 2026 | Macmillan Audio, 6 October 2026 |
| Extras | The author credited as a third narrator; what she reads is not stated | “An audio-exclusive bonus chapter featuring the author” |
| Print length | 400 pages (HarperCollins hardback, 8 October 2026; paperback due 6 May 2027) | 400 pages (St. Martin’s hardback, 6 October 2026) |
| Price (snapshot) | £16.36 on Audible UK | $21.74 on Audible US |
Every listing on both stores shares the same two lead narrators and the same (P)2026 Macmillan Audio line; the three-narrator version runs one minute longer and credits Robinson, while the two-narrator Macmillan listing mentions the bonus chapter instead. No page says whether they are the same recording with and without the extra. The UK lead, the three-narrator listing, is scored.
Lengths checked 19 October 2026. Speed times are calculated from the listed length. Prices are a snapshot from the same day.
Bad Words
Ríoghnach Robinson
- Genre
- Romantic comedy
- Published
- 2026
- Length
- 400 pages (HarperCollins hardback)
- On audio
- 12 hrs 30 mins, Katharine Chin, Major Curda and the author
- Book clubs
- Good Morning America Book Club pick, October 2026; Red, Prima and Woman & Home book of the month
- Also by
- Robinson’s YA novels were published as Riley Redgate; this is her adult debut
On this page
Why we reached this verdict
Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions. They are based on research into what most people find easier to follow in each format, not on whether the book is any good.
Listening: full cast or produced audio (10), award-winning or praised narration (6), 16 points. Reading: nothing confirmed, 0 points. 100% of the confirmed points favour listening, so the verdict is listen on Audible at 100% confidence (clear cut).
The recording in detail
- Three listings on Audible UK
- Scored: Chin, Curda and Robinson, HarperCollins listing with a (P)2026 Macmillan Audio line, 8 October 2026, 12h 30m, position 1. Also Chin and Curda, Macmillan Audio, 6 October 2026, 12h 29m, with the bonus chapter; and a second three-narrator listing at £22.20
- Casting
- Major Curda reads Parker Navarro, the novelist; Katharine Chin reads Selina Chan, the critic (Kirkus audiobook review). What the author reads is not stated
- Production
- Unabridged. The Macmillan listing includes “an audio-exclusive bonus chapter featuring the author”
- Listener ratings
- 5.0 from 6 ratings on Audible UK (three-narrator listing); 4.6 from 69 on Audible US (Chin and Curda), as of October 2026
- What audio adds
- A separate narrator for each side of the feud, and a bonus chapter that the printed book does not have
- What you miss
- Whatever layout print gives the reviews, posts and email exchange. One listener found the email addresses repetitive when read aloud
What this book actually is
Bad Words is Ríoghnach Robinson’s adult debut, published by St. Martin’s in the US on 6 October 2026 and by HarperCollins in the UK on 8 October 2026, 400 pages in both. Robinson’s young adult novels appeared under the name Riley Redgate; one of them, Come Home to My Heart, won the 2026 Lambda Literary Award for Young Adult Literature. Bad Words is the Good Morning America Book Club pick for October 2026 and a Red, Prima and Woman & Home book of the month, and Emily Henry calls it “a once-in-a-lifetime read about truth, art, vulnerability, and all the sticky places they intersect”.
Parker Navarro’s debut novel became “the flop of the decade” after critic Selina Chan’s review. Four years later his new book is his chance at redemption, and Selina must review him again. Their public feud becomes a viral spectacle while a quieter, more personal exchange develops between them. Publishers market it as an enemies-to-lovers romance and a romantic comedy; Kirkus calls the romance “a literary treat” that “ultimately takes a back seat to a conversation about craft, ambition” and “being perceived”. It sits on the romance shelf here because that is how every retailer sells it.
The case for reading it
The case for print is the kind of material the book is built from. The feud runs through published reviews, social media posts, live panels, short stories inside the novel and a private email exchange. In print, documents like that can be set apart with headers and typography, read at a glance and skipped back to. One US listener complained that in the email exchange “the characters kept repeating the email addresses”, which suggests the recording reads the headers in full every time. No source describes how print lays those sections out, which is why this check does not count towards the verdict.
The prose has strong blurbs, “clear, clever voice” from Emily Henry and “smart, thought-provoking” from Kirkus, but nobody singles out the writing as a reason to read slowly. The 400-page Kindle edition suits readers who want to see the reviews laid out as reviews.
The case for listening to it
Each side of the argument has its own narrator. Kirkus’s audiobook review confirms that Major Curda reads Parker and Katharine Chin reads Selina, and says “Curda’s dynamic narration is expressive and engaging” while “Chin captures Selina’s guarded personality with her precise pronunciation and pace”. Woman’s World, quoted on Audible US, calls it “a perfect enemies-to-lovers tale narrated by Katharine Chin and Major Curda”. A US listener wrote of “incredible performances from the narrators of an emotionally resonant story”.
The UK lead edition also credits the author as a third narrator, and the Macmillan listing promises “an audio-exclusive bonus chapter featuring the author”, something no print edition offers. Her part is not stated on any page, so this site does not guess. The book is a single romance told in order, with two leads and a real-world setting. The Love Hypothesis and Icebreaker have the same features, and both got a Listen verdict.

The audiobook in detail
Audible UK carries three listings and Audible US two, all with Katharine Chin and Major Curda as lead narrators and the same (P)2026 Macmillan Audio line. The three-narrator version, which adds Ríoghnach Robinson and leads Audible UK under a HarperCollins publisher field, released 8 October 2026 at 12 hours 30 minutes and is scored here. The Chin-and-Curda version from Macmillan Audio, which leads Audible US, released 6 October 2026 at 12 hours 29 minutes and is the one that mentions the bonus chapter. No page says whether the three-narrator edition is the Macmillan recording plus that chapter, though the one-minute difference points that way. At 1.5x it takes 8 hours 20 minutes, at 2x 6 hours 15 minutes.
Kirkus is the only critic who has reviewed the recording. No award has been found. Ratings are early: 5.0 from six on Audible UK and 4.6 from 69 on Audible US, as of October 2026. The author’s name is spelled “Rioghnach” on Audible and Waterstones and “Ríoghnach” by Kirkus and Wikipedia; the page address drops the accent.
Who should ignore this verdict
Readers who want the reviews, posts and emails laid out as what they are should read it, and so should anyone who already finds email headers annoying when read aloud. Anyone who comes for the romance and wants the two voices sparring, or who wants the bonus chapter with the author, should listen.
Audiobook
- Read by Katharine Chin (Selina) and Major Curda (Parker), with the author
- 12h 30m, or 8h 20m at 1.5x
- Audio-exclusive bonus chapter with the author
Kindle
- 400 pages (HarperCollins hardback; paperback due May 2027)
- The reviews, posts and emails as print sets them
Read differently from most people? The app, coming soon, will let you switch off any of the thirteen checks. Get notified →
Related verdicts

The Love Hypothesis
A rivals-to-lovers romance told in order, where either format works.

People We Meet on Vacation
A novel by Emily Henry, who wrote a blurb for Bad Words, where our verdict is to listen because its chapters are dated.

Great Big Beautiful Life
Another romance with a writer at the centre, where our verdict is a close call in favour of listening.
Start hereHow we decide
The thirteen questions behind every verdict on this site.
Questions people ask
Who narrates Bad Words by Ríoghnach Robinson?
Katharine Chin and Major Curda read it, with Ríoghnach Robinson also credited on the listing that leads Audible UK. Kirkus confirms Curda reads Parker Navarro, the novelist, and Chin reads Selina Chan, the critic.
How long is the Bad Words audiobook?
The three-narrator edition is 12 hours 30 minutes (12h 30m); the Chin-and-Curda Macmillan edition is 12 hours 29 minutes. Both unabridged. At 1.5x it takes 8 hours 20 minutes; at 2x 6 hours 15 minutes (calculated).
Is the Bad Words audiobook abridged?
No. Every listing on Audible UK and Audible US is unabridged.
Should I read or listen to Bad Words?
Listen on our checks (100% confidence, clear cut). Each viewpoint has its own narrator, Kirkus praises the performances, and nothing confirmed points to print.
Who reads Parker and Selina?
Major Curda reads Parker Navarro and Katharine Chin reads Selina Chan, according to the Kirkus audiobook review of the Macmillan Audio edition.
Does the author narrate any of Bad Words?
Ríoghnach Robinson is credited as a narrator on the UK lead listing, and the Macmillan listing mentions “an audio-exclusive bonus chapter featuring the author”. Which part she reads is not stated on any page.
When is Bad Words out in the UK?
The HarperCollins hardback and the audiobook came out on 8 October 2026; the UK paperback is due on 6 May 2027. The US St. Martin’s edition came out on 6 October 2026.
Is Bad Words a romance?
Retailers market it as an enemies-to-lovers romance and a romantic comedy. Kirkus calls the romance “a literary treat” that shares the book with “a conversation about craft, ambition” and being perceived.
Do you agree with this verdict?
We said listen on Audible. One tap, no sign-up.
Spotted a mistake on this page? Tell us and we will fix it. Or tell us how the site could be better.
How this verdict was reached
Every book on this site is checked against the same thirteen questions, set in advance and applied identically to every title. They are based on research into what readers and listeners generally find easier to follow in each format, not on personal preference, and they are published in full so you can check the reasoning yourself. Verdicts are never paid for, sponsored or influenced by affiliate partners.
- The criteria: read the thirteen questions in full.
- What we checked for this book: the three Audible UK listings and two Audible US listings for the recording, the Kirkus print and audiobook reviews, Waterstones for the UK hardback and paperback, Open Library for the US edition, and Wikipedia as a secondary source on the author’s earlier books and the Good Morning America pick.
- Verdict last reviewed: 23 October 2026. Editions and narrators change, so verdicts are rechecked annually.
- Prefer different criteria? The app, coming soon, will let you change which of the thirteen questions matter to you.
Deciding about a different book?
Search for it. If we've written it up, we'll take you to the verdict. If not, we'll add it to our list of books to check.